If you or a loved one has been convicted of DUI and you are thinking of reinstating your driver's license, there are a few things to know. The entire experience of being charged with DUI to the sentencing, if convicted, can be pretty stressful. However, for many, license reinstatement is possible after having it revoked or suspended after DUI conviction. California law dictates this process and may apply differently to differing situations.
California has some pretty strict regulations for those who have been convicted of DUI and are looking to reinstate their license. First, one must fulfill the mandatory suspension period and then one would qualify to pay the driver's license reissue fee. One must also complete a DUI program and submit a Notice of Completion Certificate (Form DL-101) which can then be submitted for proof to a person's insurance company. The reinstatement fee owed is $55 but this is separate from any fines required by the courts after DUI conviction.
If one were to skip these steps and be picked up for driving without a valid license, the potential consequences are fairly steep. Again, these are set by the state, a person could face five days and up to six months in jail and a costly fine of anywhere between $300-$1000 fine. This is why a person should get their license reinstated before getting behind the wheel of a vehicle. It could really delay the license reinstatement process if picked up for driving with a revoked or suspended license.
While DUI is rarely ever a part of a person's plan, it happens to people fairly frequently. Avoiding further run-ins with the law is a good strategy as it will help a person get back on track after a DUI conviction. Being picked up for driving with a suspended license is not a great way to come out of a DUI conviction. Avoid it by getting it reinstated before getting behind the wheel.